Carol Kendall The Gammage Cup
The Whisper of Glocken Sweet and Sour

Carol Kendall was born on September 13, 1917, in Bucyrus, Ohio. She received an AB degree from Ohio University. Her first novel was an adult mystery, The Black Seven, published in 1946. Her protagonist in that book was a twelve-year-old. She enjoyed writing about children so much that she soon published two mystery novels for children.

In 1959, her fantasy novel about the Minnipins, The Gammage Cup, received a Newbery Honor. The sequels to that book are The Whisper of Glocken and The Firelings. Fantasy fans the world over avidly read these two books.

She died on July 28, 2012, in Lawrence, Kansas.

Subscribe to Fresh Bookology for FREE!

Receive a weekly e-mail pointing out articles published that week as well as curated children’s books and reading news.


Recent Articles